Author |
|
smarty Super User
Joined: May 21 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 728
|
Posted: June 15 2006 at 15:49 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Is there anyway to change the size of the user message box? Is there anyway to change the font size of the text message that is being displayed?
I am using the message box to display the contents of a caller ID txt file. The scrolling is nice, but I need bigger text, and a bigger text box.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: June 16 2006 at 15:10 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Smarty,
Not currently. I would have to look into the best way of handling this.
In the meantime, you may want to look into something like the formula below:
Code:
ph_run('"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" http://127.0.0.1:8000/ph-cgi/directhtml?html="<html> <body> <h1>This is the message</h1> </body> </html>"') |
|
|
This or something similar may get you by.
Dave.
Edited by dhoward - June 16 2006 at 15:14
|
Back to Top |
|
|
smarty Super User
Joined: May 21 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 728
|
Posted: June 18 2006 at 14:32 | IP Logged
|
|
|
When I run this formula line, it opens IE. I guess I am supposed to use my local IP address rather than the one listed (right?). It comes up with a page cannot be displayed error message.
Additionally, to really make use of PH, I guess I will have to learn some HTML code to understand PSP pages. Where is the best place to start to understand HMTL code? Night class? Playing with an HTML/web page generator like MS FrontPage? Where do I start since I really only know BASIC type languages?
Code:
ph_run('"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" http://127.0.0.1:8000/ph-cgi/directhtml?html="<html> <body> <h1>This is the message</h1> </body> </html>"')
|
Back to Top |
|
|
smarty Super User
Joined: May 21 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 728
|
Posted: June 18 2006 at 14:35 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Ok...I am dumb AGAIN!
I removed the :8000 (port command), and it displayed the "This is the message".
|
Back to Top |
|
|
onhiatus Senior Member
Joined: May 12 2004 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 279
|
Posted: June 18 2006 at 15:08 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Smarty, html is really not very difficult. I mostly use notepad ;-)
Having said that, Front Page makes it a lot easier to design your page - I tend to design my page with bogus values, then go back and directly in the source, sub in the psp substitutions to get those values from ph.
The psp stuff is really easy, you just enter PH formulas.
I'm quite proud of what I've got powerhome doing. Here's a live screenshot of the page I've designed for a touchscreen. When I get it a little farther on I'll post the page someplace so people can play with it...
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: June 18 2006 at 17:13 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Looing good! Nice and clean.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
onhiatus Senior Member
Joined: May 12 2004 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 279
|
Posted: June 18 2006 at 17:24 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks. I was going for simple since the touch screens I'll be using aren't the highest res. (640x480). The page actually uses a lot of jscript. Clicking on pretty much anything brings up an overlay with more info - weather details, schedule info for the days that aren't shown - days that would stretch the screen are made invisible and their small icon versions are displayed instead(SA, SU, MO, & TU in the screenshot above), Bigger traffic map, etc. Best, I use scripting to load a separate data file into an iframe so that the page does not flicker when it reloads.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: June 19 2006 at 16:29 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Tony,
I wanted to check out your screenshot, but it doesnt seem to be coming through. I would love to see what you've done so far.
Also, if you do get to a point where you're a little farther and don't mind, posting the script code would be awesome. I always get a kick out of seeing what other users like Tony, Peter, and others have done (and I get a chance to sometimes learn something .
Also, having said that, there is a new function in the next beta called ph_openiewindow(). It allows the user to specify a title, URL, timeout, x, y, width, height, and flags and open a custom usermessage (or full URL, etc.) on the fly. Should take care of the configurable message needs.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: June 19 2006 at 16:31 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Tony,
Never mind...I refreshed and the screenshot came through. Looks great .
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: June 19 2006 at 18:48 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Will be ph_openiewindow be added to dcc?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: June 19 2006 at 22:43 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Tony,
Yep...thats the plan (I still remember from way back when . That and playsound and TTS.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|