Author |
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: January 11 2005 at 05:22 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Does anyone have any Ideas to incorporate the small projects into PH on any of these pages?
http://www.geocities.com/kiwi_36_nz/tlog/tlog.htm
or better yet:
http://www.cesko.host.sk/GamePortTemp_eng.htm
or how to get the illumination level of an LDR connected to the game port.... the hardware is no problem, the software is my problem...
with 4 temp.measurements I can e.g. measure the watertemp. of my solarboiler, as well as the Central heating and the temp in the living room and the temp. outside
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 11 2005 at 10:56 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Peter,
I checked out the sites above and at first glance, PowerHome should be able to be interfaced several different ways.
The first site showed the temp sensor going to a parallel port. You should be able to write a simple program in VB to monitor this and then using Windows Messaging, send the temperature to PowerHome when a change is detected or at regular intervals (You would need Windows 9X or additional software to directly monitor the parallel port for NT and 2000). It also mentioned the sensor being interfaced with a serial port and you could use the internal COM routines within PowerHome for this one.
At the second site, it would probably be even easier. The author says that source code as well as a DLL is available to monitor the 4 temp sensor on the game port. You could wrap this DLL in a simple VB program and then use Windows Messaging to communicate with PowerHome. It also said that it included an internal HTTP server. With this approach, you could use PowerHome's ph_geturl function to query the temp info. One last approach would be to use the supplied software that writes to a CSV file and then read this into PowerHome for temperature parsing.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
didi Newbie
Joined: November 29 2001 Location: Belgium
Online Status: Offline Posts: 34
|
Posted: January 11 2005 at 11:01 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Or, since Dave is working very, very hard on the K8000 support, you could use the analog in's on the Velleman K8000 card in the very, very near future, right Dave
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 11 2005 at 11:08 | IP Logged
|
|
|
That is correct .
I actually finished my K8000 two nights ago (it was a long time coming). Ive coded up the initial communications and hope to test soon. I didnt have a 25 pin male to 25 pin female cable, so had to go out and buy one last night. Couldnt find one, so ended up getting a parallel transfer cable (laplink??) male to male and a gender-bender. I got to thinking however that it may not be a straight-through cable. I'll break out the multimeter and test it tonight.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: January 11 2005 at 18:50 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Quote: Originally posted by dhoward on January 11 2005
The first site showed the temp sensor going to a parallel port. You should be able to write a simple program in VB to monitor this and then using Windows Messaging, send the temperature to PowerHome when a change is detected or at regular intervals (You would need Windows 9X or additional software to directly monitor the parallel port for NT and 2000). It also mentioned the sensor being interfaced with a serial port and you could use the internal COM routines within PowerHome for this one.
Since PH is running on a P100 with 2 comports and one is in use for the mouse, leaves just one, this is needed for the CM11a.....damn, no comports left
Quote:
At the second site, it would probably be even easier. The author says that source code as well as a DLL is available to monitor the 4 temp sensor on the game port. You could wrap this DLL in a simple VB program and then use Windows Messaging to communicate with PowerHome. It also said that it included an internal HTTP server. With this approach, you could use PowerHome's ph_geturl function to query the temp info. One last approach would be to use the supplied software that writes to a CSV file and then read this into PowerHome for temperature parsing.
Well I always choose the easy way, I have taken the hard way long enough ...However like I said: programming is not my strongest point (to say the least) I can do a little bit with the formula functions in PH (Newbie right...) but VB is another.... When I have completed the hardware I'll try to make it work woth the internal http like you mentioned. But if anyone has the time to scrap a VB script together, that would really be a barnburner for me... (silent hint) Perhaps I should buy the book "VB for dummies" or something like that.... All the post you and Tony make, I read carefully, because there's always something I can learn....
Peter
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 12 2005 at 09:56 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Definately buy the book...you'll probably actually find it fun . Once you've put the hardware together, let me know and I'll whip up a little something for you in VB.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 06:06 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I am going to get the parts today, so I should be able to get the hardware working this weekend (i've got a job as well ......d*mn)
Peter
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 06:57 | IP Logged
|
|
|
How much are these devices?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 09:17 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Tony,
Not sure if you were asking about the K8000 or not, but if you were, the best price I could find was about $125.00 here: http://store.qkits.com/moreinfo.cfm/k8000
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 09:23 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Didi,
Well, that damn parallel laplink cable wont work . However, I did finally come across a straight through cable and was able to use that.
The good news....it works!! Was able to test my initial coding and I was successfully able to turn on/off my digital outputs. I am stoked !! I was able to prove that I didnt make any mistakes in my assembly and was able to get my own I2C routines going. It's a good thing I got the kit because without having the hardware there, I would never have been able to tune my programming to get it working right. I was able snap on 16 digital outputs in less than a blink of an eye...and that was turning them on individually and not a whole chip at a time.
Anyways, thought I would let you know the great news and that progress is being made .
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 09:24 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Peter, I'll start poking around with the DLL.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 10:33 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Dave: I searched over here for the parts, one shop had the guts to ask $27,- each! However now I have ordered them on the internet (conrad) and they'll be here next Monday. So before Monday the VB doesn't have to be ready....At conrad they still are $7,- each but that is still cheaper then $27,- right
Peter
|
Back to Top |
|
|
didi Newbie
Joined: November 29 2001 Location: Belgium
Online Status: Offline Posts: 34
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 13:31 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Way to go Dave.
I am realy excited that D-day, or should I say K-day is finaly comming
Dirk
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 14:13 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Peter,
I'll probably start playing this weekend...shouldnt take too long.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: January 13 2005 at 17:07 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hmm. I didn't realize that I cross-posted that one!
|
Back to Top |
|
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: January 14 2005 at 05:42 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanx dave, could you please comment in the VB so I can study it....the hext project has been given by my wife: She wants a firealarm to be installed with smokealarms and a panicbutton so that all shutters open when there's an alarm. So that will be my next project when this one is finished. I've already got some ideas but I'll start a new thread when the thermometer is up and running!
Peter
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 14 2005 at 10:04 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Will do.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: January 18 2005 at 23:04 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hey Dave,
I've just got a confirmation e-mail: The parts will be here by Thursday, and since Friday is my Day-Off and my daughter will be with her grandmother, the hardware is ready on Friday....Just yhink you'd like to know.
Peter
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 19 2005 at 09:24 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I'll get to work on it
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: January 21 2005 at 10:57 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hey Guys....
i've got the hardware up and running:
Now for the incorporation into powrhome (first I have to install the soundcard...forgot to put it in )
Peter
|
Back to Top |
|
|