Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: Creating plugins with Visual Studio 2008? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
bmwragtop
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: March 30 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 27
Posted: April 19 2009 at 18:09 | IP Logged Quote bmwragtop

Hi All,

I'm working my way through learning how to create a Power-Home plugin using Visual Studio 2008 (C++, using MFC). I am using the skeleton plugin as a simple starting point.

I have managed to get the plugin to behave the same as the pre-packaged skeleton plugin from within the "ActiveX Control Test Container" provided by Microsoft.

However, when I attempt to load my plugin into Power-Home, I am still getting an error with a value of -2 returned.

The plug-in has been registered.

I am not sure where to go from here, as everything seems to be working outside of Power-Home.

I suspect my issue may have to do with the way Strings are passed (type of string and using by reference or by value).

Are there any debug tips people have for debugging the issues when loading a new plug-in into Power-Home?

Thanks!

Tom
Back to Top View bmwragtop's Profile Search for other posts by bmwragtop
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: April 20 2009 at 20:59 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Tom,

I'll look through my server for a .Net version of the PowerHome Skeleton plugin that my wife put together for me. As soon as I find it, I'll put it on the downloads page and post back here.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
bmwragtop
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: March 30 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 27
Posted: April 20 2009 at 21:12 | IP Logged Quote bmwragtop

Hi Dave,

Thanks! That would help.

I'm sure there is just one small thing I'm missing in the configuration that is not playing well with Power-Home.

-Tom
Back to Top View bmwragtop's Profile Search for other posts by bmwragtop
 
bmwragtop
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: March 30 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 27
Posted: April 28 2009 at 19:01 | IP Logged Quote bmwragtop

Hi Dave,

Have you had any luck finding the .NET plugin code on your server?

Normally, I would not be in a rush, but I am creating a plugin to webcamXP, and I want to make sure it will work before I buy webcamXP. I have about 3 weeks left on my trial period, and I would like to get the plugin up and running in that period.

Thanks in advance, and thanks for your great support!

-Tom
Back to Top View bmwragtop's Profile Search for other posts by bmwragtop
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: May 02 2009 at 21:17 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Tom,

Sorry to take so long, but Ive found it. Its more or less the PH Skeleton Plugin that has been converted to C# by my wife. You can get it here: http://power-home.com/download/ph_plugin_net.zip

Let me know if you need it in VB.net or another language.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
bmwragtop
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: March 30 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 27
Posted: May 02 2009 at 22:55 | IP Logged Quote bmwragtop

Hi Dave,

Thanks!!! I'm away from home tonight, but I'll download and try it out tomorrow.

No need to apologize, though. You're a busy guy!

-Tom
Back to Top View bmwragtop's Profile Search for other posts by bmwragtop
 
patrickm
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: February 22 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 188
Posted: December 23 2010 at 05:03 | IP Logged Quote patrickm

I tried the C# plugin and it would not register as it was in the zip file. I rebuilt the VS2008 project with COM interop checked and it registered successfully in 64 bit Win7.

However the plugin initialization returns an error of -2.

I can't find anything describing the init error codes.   Anybody got a plugin working with VS2008?
Back to Top View patrickm's Profile Search for other posts by patrickm
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: December 23 2010 at 20:54 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

The -2 during initialization means that the classname could not be found. This is most likely the result of not properly registering the .net COM object.

After compiling the project in .net, you must run the following command to "register" the COM object and type library:

C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\regasm.exe "C:\your_devel_directory\phplugin_net\bin\release\ph_plugin_ net.dll" /tlb /codebase

See where this gets you and let me know.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
patrickm
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: February 22 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 188
Posted: December 24 2010 at 12:14 | IP Logged Quote patrickm

I successfully ran regasm prior to the error without the /tlb /codebase switches.

I ran it again with /tlb and /codebase switches and it generated a warning.



I then reinitialized PH and it generated the same -2 error.

I ran a DLL Viewer and saw that no functions were exported. DOes this DLL work for anyone else on other platforms? I'm trying this on 64bit Win7 Ultimate.

Edited by patrickm - December 26 2010 at 23:58
Back to Top View patrickm's Profile Search for other posts by patrickm
 
mertfg
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: January 25 2011
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Posted: February 03 2011 at 23:32 | IP Logged Quote mertfg

I would request bmwragtop to let me know whether he has succeeded in solving the issue related to Power-Home plugin. I am having a similar problem at the moment and I am also seriously thinking of making use of .NET plugin. I hope that bmwragtop will provide information in this regard soon.

__________________
magnetic messenger
Back to Top View mertfg's Profile Search for other posts by mertfg
 
Carbin
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: April 19 2011
Location: Byelorussian SSR
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Posted: April 19 2011 at 04:09 | IP Logged Quote Carbin

bmwragtop wrote:
Hi All,

I'm working my way through learning how to create a
Power-Home plugin using Visual Studio 2008 (C++, using
MFC). I am using the skeleton plugin as a simple starting
point.
iphone4 cases
ipad2 Sleeves
ipad2 Screen Protector

I have managed to get the plugin to behave the same as
the pre-packaged skeleton plugin from within the "ActiveX
Control Test Container" provided by Microsoft.

However, when I attempt to load my plugin into Power-
Home, I am still getting an error with a value of -2
returned.

The plug-in has been registered.

I am not sure where to go from here, as everything seems
to be working outside of Power-Home.

I suspect my issue may have to do with the way Strings
are passed (type of string and using by reference or by
value).

Are there any debug tips people have for debugging the
issues when loading a new plug-in into Power-Home?

Thanks!

Tom

\
I'm sure there is just one small thing I'm missing in the
configuration that is not playing well with Power-Home.

Edited by Carbin - April 19 2011 at 04:12
Back to Top View Carbin's Profile Search for other posts by Carbin
 
patrickm
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: February 22 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 188
Posted: April 19 2011 at 10:06 | IP Logged Quote patrickm

I am in the same situation. I can generate and use ActiveX plugins with other applications but I get the same -2 error on PH startup.
Back to Top View patrickm's Profile Search for other posts by patrickm
 
billy77
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: April 27 2011
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Posted: May 09 2011 at 00:55 | IP Logged Quote billy77

Carbin wrote:
bmwragtop wrote:
Hi All,

I'm working my way through learning how to create a
Power-Home plugin using Visual Studio 2008 (C++, using
MFC). I am using the skeleton plugin as a simple starting
point.

iPhone case


I have managed to get the plugin to behave the same as
the pre-packaged skeleton plugin from within the "ActiveX
Control Test Container" provided by Microsoft.

However, when I attempt to load my plugin into Power-
Home, I am still getting an error with a value of -2
returned.

The plug-in has been registered.

I am not sure where to go from here, as everything seems
to be working outside of Power-Home.

I suspect my issue may have to do with the way Strings
are passed (type of string and using by reference or by
value).

Are there any debug tips people have for debugging the
issues when loading a new plug-in into Power-Home?

Thanks!

Tom

\
I'm sure there is just one small thing I'm missing in the
configuration that is not playing well with Power-Home.



yes. it can be a config issue. my fren was able to solve it for me. but i din follow his steps.
Back to Top View billy77's Profile Search for other posts by billy77
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum