Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: To turn on/off individual timed events?? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: November 05 2008 at 09:39 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Let me first say that I am aware of the Timed Events issues when trying to select a macro (as the type of timed event). I am using a RAW FORMULA type of timed event.

After I globally enable Timed Events, there are certain times I would like to disable individual Timed Events. I am trying to do so using the "ph_modifytimedevent" command. I am not sure I understand how to use it.

For example, the line below:

ph_modifytimedevent("messagebox",0,today(),4)

should "disable" the timed event called "messagebox". However, the "x" in the disabled check box never shows up, and the Timed Event continues to routinely fire (as it was designed to do).

From the help section:
Description: Modifies an existing Timed Event.

Syntax: ph_modifytimedevent ( id, active, reftime, flags )

Argument Description:
id -String. The ID of the Timed Event you wish to modify.
active - Integer. Use 0 to set the Timed Event inactive. Use 1 to set the Timed Event active. Controlled by the flags parameter.
reftime - DateTime. The new reftime for the specified Timed Event. Controlled by the flags parameter.
flags Integer. Determines which parameters are used to update the Timed Event. Add values together. 1 - Recalculate a new StartTime, 2 - Update the Active parameter, 4 - Set a new RefTime and recalculate StartTime

Return value: Integer. Returns 0 if successful. 1 if the Timed Event specified does not exist.


What am I doing wrong? Should I be using a different reftime or flag?



__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
grif091
Super User
Super User


Joined: March 26 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1357
Posted: November 05 2008 at 12:24 | IP Logged Quote grif091

To set a Timed Event inactive (which I am not sure is the same as Disabled) the flags parameter needs a value containing a 2. As the Help section says, Add values together. If you want to Update the Active parameter and Set a new RefTime and recalculate StartTime, flags Integer would be a 6 (2+4). Having said that I used a 2 to see what would happen to one of my Timed Events. It did not result in the Disabled box being checked and the timed event did fire at the defined time. I initially used a flag of 4 which did change the refTime and StartTime. Not sure what active/inactive means. Thought it might set the Boolean value to 0 but I did not see that change either. I think you need a 6 in the flag but I don't know what inactive actually does.

Edited by grif091 - November 05 2008 at 12:26


__________________
Lee G
Back to Top View grif091's Profile Search for other posts by grif091
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: November 05 2008 at 17:42 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Ack, another bug (but this one has a work-around).

The "active" field controls whether a Timed Event is disabled or not (the "Disabled" column). You must add a value of 2 to the flags parameter for PowerHome to modify this field. Normally, a 0 for the "active" column (in the function) with the proper flags parameter will place a check in the "Disabled" column of the timed events. A 1 will uncheck this field. I have found and fixed the bug but you can workaround it now. Instead of using a 0, the function was designed for 0 or less. Instead of a 1, the function will work for 1 or more. It's just the 0 and 1 that isnt working so to disable your Timed Event, use the following function:

ph_modifytimedevent("MESSAGEBOX", - 1,today(),2)

to re-enable it, use:

ph_modifytimedevent("MESSAGEBOX", 2, today(),2)

HTH,

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
grif091
Super User
Super User


Joined: March 26 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1357
Posted: November 05 2008 at 19:46 | IP Logged Quote grif091

I was on my way to post a "some good news some bad news message" when I noticed the space between the preceding "," and the minus sign in your post. The Formula Builder would not work with   ",-1," but likes ", -1," just fine. Disable box checked and unchecked as described.

Bugs are normal. It is the speed at which you respond to them and offer a work around that makes PowerHome such a great product. Thanks!


__________________
Lee G
Back to Top View grif091's Profile Search for other posts by grif091
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: November 05 2008 at 20:15 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Thank you Dave!

Glad you found the bug and glad there is a present work around.

Steve

__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum