Author |
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 22 2012 at 11:59 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi - Ok - in reading the 2.1.4 Beta post I'm seeing that it supports extended commands, but there's a chasm to cross between the byte-twiddling described in that post and the "change the Delay parameter" that I want to do to my Synchrolinc. How does one bridge that chasm? Over at the SH forum they suggested I purchase the developer documentation. Really? 8-}.
Details: The Synchrolinc has 3 "extended" settings: The Trigger current, the Delay, and the Tolerance. The Delay (I believe) is the mininum time after one threshold crossing after which it will respond to another one, and the Tolerance introduces Hysteresis.
Best I can tell, this module isn't even on the list that's built into PH 2.1.4 (I'm currently calling it a Controllinc), and SH doesn't publish the byte codes for the extended commands, which are only in the developer documentation (which I'm assuming Dave, and perhaps some others here, have access to). I'm willing to do some grunt work, but I don't know where to start.
As it turns out, I really need to figure out how to max out the Delay setting to make my application work properly....
Any/All thoughts welcome. I'm sure if HouseLinc and ISY can do this (and they can), then PH can too 8-}
Thanks!
/j
Edited by jeffw_00 - April 23 2012 at 13:13
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 23 2012 at 18:56 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Someone gave me some data over on the Smarthome Forum
http://www.smarthome.com/forum/topic.asp?whichpage=0.6666666 66666667&TOPIC_ID=10340#54907
and this weekend I will dig into figuring it out. If anyone has any pointers (Dave maybe? 8-}) I'd be much appreciative.
/j
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: April 24 2012 at 10:53 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Jeff,
Ive looked up the notes for the Synchrolink and will work out the function to send for you tonight. Of course, you'll need to be on 2.1.4 to make use of it .
I'll post again tonight with the command to send.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 24 2012 at 11:02 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks SO MUCH Dave - even if it takes a few days that's fine. I AM on 2.1.4 8-}.
You might want to check that link at the Smarhome Forum, some data there that might make things easier.
(if you can tell me how to adjust -any- of the 3 parameters I assure you I will use it and share my results with the forum).
THANKS!
/j
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: April 24 2012 at 21:01 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Jeff,
This is PH formula to set your Synchrolinc settings.
ph_insteonwithretext("YOUR_SYNCHROLINK_ID",46,0,"00 02 WW XX YY ZZ")
Replace the "YOUR_SYNCHROLINK_ID" with the ID you've assigned your synchrolinc within PowerHome (not the Insteon address). You'll also need to replace the WW XX YY ZZ sections with the appropriate values explained below. These values should all be uppercase hex (2 digit) numbers.
WW and XX is the trigger threshold in watts. This value can be from 0 to 1800 decimal. Take this value, then convert to hex. Decimal 1800 is 0708 hex so to use 1800, then WW XX would be 07 08.
YY is the holdoff value and can be from 0 to 255 decimal (00 to FF hex). The actual value in seconds is this number timex 0.067 seconds. So a value of 255 (FF) would be 17.085 or about 17 seconds.
ZZ is the Hysteresis in watts. This value can be from 0 to 255 (00 to FF).
Of course, I don't have a synchrolinc so this is untested .
Let me know if it works for you.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 24 2012 at 21:05 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks Dave. This is Pure Gold and MUCH appreciated, and I will report back to the forum with how it turns out.
However, if I could push my luck a bit Could you tell me how to read the current values from the device? I'd like to see how the threshold is set now before i update it, and it would be nice to be able to check that the changes took.
thanks!
/j
Edited by jeffw_00 - April 24 2012 at 21:06
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: April 24 2012 at 21:43 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Was going to include that in my last post but forgot. Basically, you cant until the next beta and the ph_insteonwithretext1 command that will be introduced. This new function will allow you to get the returned extended data values from the Get settings command. Of course, I also plan to add extended settings support for all the current Insteon devices (won't make the next beta but the one after).
You can also just issue the command to get the settings using the current function:
ph_insteonwithretext("YOUR_SYNCHROLINK_ID",46,0,"")
But you'll have to watch the raw Insteon log for the return values since the function won't return these for you (ph_insteonwithretext1 will do this). The raw values in the log correspond with the values that are used to set the synchrolinc.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 24 2012 at 22:33 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi Dave - I think you're saying that if I issue
ph_insteonwithretext("YOUR_SYNCHROLINK_ID",46,0,"")
and read the log the current settings should be somewhat obvious - that's good enough - I may not get to work with this until the weekend (some personal stuff the next couple of days), but as soon as I do I'll report back.
Thanks VERY much again
/j
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 26 2012 at 17:32 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi - sending ph_insteonwithretext("YOUR_SYNCHROLINK_ID",46,0,"")
Returns
RX INSTEON EXT TIMEOUT=18 F6 F2 <- synchrolinc address
TX 02 62 18 F6 F2 1F 2E 00
RX SENTINSTEONEXT=11 CC FF 18 F6 F2 1F 2E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 06
RX INSTEON EXT TIMEOUT=18 F6 F2
TX 02 62 18 F6 F2 1F 2E 00
RX INSTEON EXT TIMEOUT=18 F6 F2 1F 2E 00
The timeout doesn't worry me (I saw a lot of these when I was linking), but I can't tell what the settings are.
I though 1F 2E might be WW XX, but that's 7982 Watts!
Any help on deciphering would be helpful - thanks!
/j
(PS 11 CC FF is the PLM)
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: April 26 2012 at 18:11 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Jeff,
The
RX SENTINSTEONEXT=11 CC FF 18 F6 F2 1F 2E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 06
is what was sent to the synchrolinc (SENTINSTEONEXT) and not was returned. It does not appear that the synchrolinc is responding and that you are getting timeouts. You may be having communication issues or the synchrolinc may even be an I2CS device. I would try moving the synchrolinc right next to the PLM to try and rule out a comm issue.
The 2E is 46 decimal, the command that we are sending. The return data (when it is working) will have the 2E followed by the CMD2 (00) and then the Data01 thru Data14 extended data bytes. The return data should have a 01 in Data02 and the synchrolinc settings will be returned in Data03 thru Data06.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 26 2012 at 18:29 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks Dave - Moving it closer produced the result below
TX 02 62 18 F6 F2 1F 2E 00
RX SENTINSTEONEXT=11 CC FF 18 F6 F2 1F 2E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 06
RECEIVEINSTEONRAW=18 F6 F2 11 CC FF 2E 00
Which makes it look like it's receiving the request but not returning any detail...?
The timeouts are also puzzling. My Insteon system is pretty solid (rarely does a command not happen - I know because PH emails me whenever it happens), and yet I get timeouts from this device when trying to link (or read it), but it did link successfully, and during a washer cycle, I -receive- all its messages just fine.
I'm wondering if it's a flakey module, as it's done a couple of other things that the guys at SH couldn't quite account for.
anyway, if you have any other suggestions I'm happy to keep going.
best
/j
Edited by jeffw_00 - April 26 2012 at 18:31
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: April 26 2012 at 18:53 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Jeff,
I would look further down in the log. Its normal to receive a standard length Insteon RECEIVEINSTEONRAW message. The extended message will come sometime after this message (usually within a second or two). If you don't get the extended message, then you'll get a timeout. If you're not getting a timeout, then you should have gotten the extended receive sometime after the standard receive.
Programming links and reading links from the synchrolinc may be done using extended commands depending upon how you've got the syncrolinc configured. If your system is using extended vs the standard length peek/poke, then that may be the issue because in my experience, extended commands are nowhere near as reliable as standard length commands (theres obviously more data traveling back and forth). Another issue could be your Access Points or if you're using the older SignalLincs. The SignalLincs don't repeat extended commands and I "believe" (don't quote me on this) the older Access Points don't properly repeat extended commands.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 26 2012 at 19:17 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi Dave - I do have original Access points and that could be the cause of the initial comm problem. However, I did wait after sending the poke command (and even tried 2 or 3 times), and that's all she wrote, no other data is returned. I have the Synchrolinc plugged into the same Ext. cord as the PLM.
I did a hard reset on the device and tried it again with slightly different results...
RECEIVEINSTEONRAW=18 F6 F2 11 CC FF 27 2E 00
I don't know if that helps. (or maybe I missed the 27 byte before)
Since the reset cleared the current setting, I tried programming it as you instructed, and put it into operation, using
SENTINSTEONEXT= 11 CC FF 18 F6 F2 1F 2E 00 00 02 01 F4 FF 0F 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 06
Obviously it's hard to tell if I picked a good value for the threshold, but with setting YY to FF I would have expected to see it change state no more often than every 15 seconds.
Unfortunately, I did not see any difference in operation from how it worked before we started this exercise. It changed state every several seconds (or sometimes after only a couple of seconds) consistent with the washer operation.
So if you have any more thoughts on how to read its state back (the only way to see if it's really programmed as we expect), please let me know. I'm happy to run any additional experiments that you suggest.
Thanks VERY MUCH!
/j
-----------------------
BTW - I tried checking the box "echo Raw Log to file", but i get "An error occurred while trying to open file "" for writing. No logging will be written."
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 26 2012 at 20:39 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Further observation: After trying to program the device via powerhome, the LED on the device still changes state as one would expect, but the device appears to become permanently unlinked from PH (i.e., no group commands are received, and attempts to relink don't have any effect). if I reset the device and then set it up via the conventional, albeit limited "TAP" procedure, and then re-link via Powerhome, correct operation is again achieved. (so something in that extended command is preventing it from doing it's normal thing).
HTH
/j
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 27 2012 at 08:53 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Dave - this module has another "problem' in that no matter how hard I try, I can't get it out of "Scene-2" mode. When I first set it up, the hi->lo transitions were marked by a Group1 Off command, but then, sort of spontaneously, they changed to Group2 On (which you're not supposed to get unless you go through a 3 step procedure). hard reset should clear it, but it hasn't.
Point is, I'm going to RMA the module. We can keep working with this one if you have ideas, but it seems like it's not responding as -you- expect either, so maybe we need to swap it and try again?
/j
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: April 27 2012 at 11:48 | IP Logged
|
|
|
IN FACT - SH tells me that this module (bought from Amazon) has a 7 -month old rev of the firmware (1.1). So I'm returning it to Amazon and ordered a new one (rev 1.15) from SH. Let's pick this up later next week.
Sorry!
/j
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: May 01 2012 at 08:48 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Ok, I got a current (V1.15) Syncholinc from SH yesterday.
W.r.t Powerhome:
a) SETTING extended settings works fine. I was able to change the threshold and delay repeatedly and the module performed as expected. Turns out that the right threshold for my new front-loading washer is 75W.
b) Unfortunately, I still can’t read back the settings. Using the command Dave specified still produces the short response noted above of
RECEIVEINSTEONRAW=18 F6 F2 11 CC FF 27 2E 00
I wonder if this is a PH problem or just the way the module is designed (I wonder if you can even read the module using Houselinc).
Dave- if you have any other ideas on reading the settings I’m happy to try them out. However, things seems to be working as I hoped, producing only a few dozen transitions per wash cycle rather than hundreds.
---
A couple of general observations for anyone else using the module.
a)Out of the box, it should give you Group 1 ON for a low->hi transition, and Group 1 OFF for a hi->low transition. If you switch it into 2-scene mode, then it should instead give you Group 2 ON for the hi-> low transition. Because my first module was stuck in 2-scene mode, I started out linking both Group 1 and Group 2. This appeared to confuse the module, and I got no indication of hi->low commands. Removing the link for Group 2 fixed the problem.
b) I tried once to set up 2-scene mode and wasn’t successful. Could have been cockpit error.
c) FYI - the instructions say you have to set low-current mode followed by high-current mode. In actuality you can do either mode first and the module will figure it out. The new firmware actually seems to prefer high-mode first, which is usually easier.
HTH
/j
|
Back to Top |
|
|
grif091 Super User
Joined: March 26 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1357
|
Posted: May 01 2012 at 11:15 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Check the flag byte on the 2E command for the Extended indicator 0x1F. The 2E returns an Extended response from my SynchroLinc which is several months old.
2012-05-01 12:09:52.734 TX &nbs p; 02 62 18 F7 B1 1F 2E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
2012-05-01 12:09:53.156 RX &nbs p; SENTINSTEONEXT=0F 44 DC 18 F7 B1 1F 2E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 06
2012-05-01 12:09:53.500 RX &nbs p; RECEIVEINSTEONRAW=18 F7 B1 0F 44 DC 2B 2E 00
2012-05-01 12:09:53.890 RX &nbs p; RECEIVEINSTEONEXT=18 F7 B1 0F 44 DC 1B 2E 00 00 01 00 19 17 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
__________________ Lee G
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jeffw_00 Super User
Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline Posts: 929
|
Posted: May 01 2012 at 18:56 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hmmm - I have the 1F 2E after the 2nd device ID just as you do, but I never get that last line returned. Perhaps there's a config option in PH (or Insteon Explorer) I need to change???
(I don't think it's the module because I've tried two).
thanks!
/j
|
Back to Top |
|
|
grif091 Super User
Joined: March 26 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1357
|
Posted: May 01 2012 at 19:11 | IP Logged
|
|
|
What type Controller and firmware level, what type of RF coupling devices?
Are you using the ext variant of ph_ call
ph_insteonwithretext(ph_getvar_s(2,7),46,0,"00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00")
Edited by grif091 - May 01 2012 at 19:14
__________________ Lee G
|
Back to Top |
|
|