Author |
|
GadgetGuy Super User
Joined: June 01 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 942
|
Posted: February 08 2009 at 20:30 | IP Logged
|
|
|
After a frustrating hour of debugging error alerts in the Event Log I'm beginninng to believe this is a bug.
A statement of ph_setglobal_a("globalname", 1) works but ph_setglobal_a("globalname", -1) does not!
Is there some reason that negative numbers cannot be used in Globals?
__________________ Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
|
Back to Top |
|
|
nadler Super User
Joined: February 25 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 354
|
Posted: February 08 2009 at 20:49 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Put a parenthesis around the -1 and it will work.
ph_setglobal_a("globalname", (-1)) will work.
Noel
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: February 08 2009 at 21:10 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Always make sure to have a "space" in front and behind the "-" character. Its a problem with the PowerBuilder language that PowerHome is written in. That should fix it as well.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
GadgetGuy Super User
Joined: June 01 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 942
|
Posted: February 08 2009 at 21:26 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Actually it is a LOCAL that is the data element. In debugging I used a fixed integer number to discover the cause of the problem, thus I cannot really insert (easily) a space behind the "-" sign.
So should I thus use. . .
ph_setglobal_a("globalname",([LOCAL1]))
as the formula?
__________________ Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
|
Back to Top |
|
|
GadgetGuy Super User
Joined: June 01 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 942
|
Posted: February 09 2009 at 07:20 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks guys.
Before I saw your answers I got it to work using the approach, which also did the trick.
Edited by GadgetGuy - February 09 2009 at 07:36
__________________ Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: February 09 2009 at 22:19 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I gotcha. As usual, several ways to do it.
Using the ph_getvar function such as
ph_setglobal_a("GLOBALID",ph_getvar_n(1,1))
should do the trick. Or as Noel suggested, surrounding the [LOCAL1] with open and close parens will do the trick (I never even thought of this one ).
Or as you've discovered:
ph_setglobal_a("GLOBALID",number("[LOCAL1]"))
should also get the job done.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|