Author |
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: January 19 2005 at 23:05 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Is there any way to get rid of Key #'s required for some functions? For example, using a formula to send my TV a Video Source IR command, I need to specify the key number which has no discernable relationship to the command...
ph_ir("LR TV", 23)
Even worse is calling up a specific channel (296 in this case)...
ph_ir("DIRECTIVO", 14) + ph_ir("DIRECTIVO", 21) + ph_ir("DIRECTIVO", 18)
Can you give some thought to using the Description field instead of Key #?
ph_ir("LR TV", "SOURCE")
and
ph_ir("DIRECTIVO", "2") + ph_ir("DIRECTIVO", "9") + ph_ir("DIRECTIVO", "6")
...would be so much easier!
Thanks!
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 20 2005 at 12:43 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Ok, you've got two new functions:
ph_irdesc lets you specify the ID of the equipment and the description of the button. It will look like ph_irdesc('DVD','POWER').
ph_irchain allows you to send a sequence of IR commands to a piece of equipment. It uses a tab delimited list of IR key descriptions. It will look like this: ph_irchain('DVD','2~t6~t9'). This will send the numbers 269 to the DVD player.
Hope this helps ,
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: January 20 2005 at 18:28 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Wow! Sweet! You are psychic! I was going to ask for something like "chaining", but, figured I'd ask for one at a time!
Thanks for being so flexible!
So, when is the next beta due?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 21 2005 at 20:34 | IP Logged
|
|
|
We're probably looking at a couple of weeks.
Ive got the new digital input/output screen up and going and have completely rewritten the X-10 status screen into the new Device Status Screen. The DI's and DO's show up here and can be controlled from this screen. Ive also got the Digital Input and Digital Output triggers up and running.
I still have to tweak the webserver for the new Device Status screen as well as finish the code for the analog side of things. Once that's all running smoothly, I'll need to enable the CPU-XA/Ocelot so that it can take advantage of the new DI/DO and analog screens and triggers.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: July 07 2005 at 12:51 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hey! Can something like this be done for devices (i.e. X-10 modules)?
Easier to remember "LR Lamp" than A8!
|
Back to Top |
|
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: July 08 2005 at 10:24 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi tonyNo
That would be a good thing, things are really starting to get out of hand here with the size of my HA-network...
Peter
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: July 18 2005 at 15:22 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Ok, Ive been playing around with this and should be doable but need a little guidance on how best to implement (within the confines of SQL).
The X10UNITCODES table has a field called KEY_DESC which is probably what you want to drive off of. However, this field may not be unique (like in my setup).
In my situation, I use the LOCATION field to describe a room. I'll then use the KEY_DESC field to describe the controlled appliance such as location: MASTER BEDROOM, key_desc: LIGHT. I also have location: KITCHEN, key_desc LIGHT. So you can see if I drive solely off of KEY_DESC, I would not be able adequately identify the unit.
One of the things I was thinking of was selecting based off of the concatenation of LOCATION and KEY_DESC. This would allow me to do "MASTER BEDROOM LIGHT". However, this may get too lengthy.
I was also thinking of concatenating LOCATION and KEY_DESC and using a "like" operator rather than an "=" operator so the user would be able to specify wildcards.
Another idea may be to separately pass in both the LOCATION and KEY_DESC fields rather than concatenating them.
Essentially, the function would be a variant of the existing ph_x10btn function. Instead of specifying the housecode and unitcode, you would use a description. In any event, the function would only control a single X-10 device. In the event that a description did not uniquely identify a unit, only a single unit would be controlled (randomly determined).
Give me your thoughts so I'll know how to proceed.
Thanks,
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: July 20 2005 at 08:04 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hmm. My key_desc's are unique. I just started using location fields with the room/area name.
I like the idea of passing both separately, but I'd want to not have to supply both.
Maybe just a window that can be called up listing devices and house/unit codes would suffice. Could be done with a macro and a message box...
|
Back to Top |
|
|