Author |
|
NorthernAl Groupie
Joined: March 19 2006
Online Status: Offline Posts: 48
|
Posted: March 18 2007 at 10:38 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I have one insteon device that has trouble being controlled. About 1 in 10 commands result in a NAK back from PLC.
I need to figure out why but this post is not related to that directly. Instead I am curious how I can have PH reflect that status properly. If I send an 'off' to the device but the PLC returns NAK, PH still seems to think that device is off (although the command failed). I am getting status through the ph_getinsteonstat message which I think returns PH's internal status for a device.
One question is why does PH not use the NAK from PLC to note the device has not actually switched state? Second questions is there a formula for getting the true device status? In insteon there should be a command to check a device's status? Is that accessible in PH?
One of the reasons I dropped all my x10 and went to Insteon was the fact that all Insteon devices return status. I'd like to use this in PH.
Lastly back to my problem device - what techniques have people used to improve a device that occasionally returns a NAK?
Thanks!
Al
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: March 18 2007 at 11:15 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Dave had said that PH waited for Insteon device confirmation before updating the DB, so this is interesting.
ph_getinsteonlevelrt( id )
Retrieves the current status (level) of an Insteon device in real time.
Compare to...
ph_getinsteonlevel( id )
Returns the level associated with the specified Insteon Device ID that PowerHome currently has stored.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
NorthernAl Groupie
Joined: March 19 2006
Online Status: Offline Posts: 48
|
Posted: March 18 2007 at 13:44 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Tony,
I could not find ph_getinsteonlevelrt. Then realized I am one version back in PH and looked at release notes. Yes was added in .10. I will upgrade.
Thanks!
Maybe Dave can answer about the internal status discrepancy after a NAK.
Al
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: March 19 2007 at 15:29 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Al,
Tony has you covered. The latest .10 beta has the new ph_getinsteonlevelrt which will actually query the device and report the current status.
As far as the NAK's updating PowerHome. This is a user selectable option in the Insteon Explorer labeled "Update on ACK". With it unchecked (the current default), PowerHome "assumes" that commands it sends are heard and updates it's status right away. If you check this box, then PowerHome will ONLY update it's status when an ACK is received. It's user preference which method you prefer. Both have it's problems. If you leave the box unchecked, then when a command does fail, the PowerHome status will not be correct. But if you check the box, sometimes the ACK is lost and PowerHome will again be out of sync. This used to be the default mode before an option was provided, but I was having plenty of problems where the command would work and the lights responded properly. I wouldnt get a NAK, but I also wouldnt get an ACK. It's as if the message was lost. I seemed to have more accuracy in my status by leaving the "Update on ACK" unchecked. I may still have the occasional command getting lost (instead of the ACK), but it seems to work better for me.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|