Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: TTS PH to PH Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
BeachBum
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: April 11 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1880
Posted: November 15 2007 at 17:23 | IP Logged Quote BeachBum

I have 2 PH systems. I would like what I announce using TTS on one system do the same on the other. Currently I do a WriteFile using DCC to the other system with the data and TTS from that file. There must be a slicker way without getting too complicated..

__________________
Pete - X10 Oldie
Back to Top View BeachBum's Profile Search for other posts by BeachBum
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2889
Posted: November 15 2007 at 19:10 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

If you have the web server running on the second one, just use something like this from the primary machine...

ph_geturl("http://phmachine2/ph-cgi/evalformula?formula=ph_t ts('your announcement')")

Edited by TonyNo - November 15 2007 at 19:11
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
BeachBum
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: April 11 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1880
Posted: November 15 2007 at 19:43 | IP Logged Quote BeachBum

I don't have the web server running. I was doing something real rudimentary like:

ph_ssrequest("192.168.1.101", 8500, "chc", "test", "FORMULA", 'ph_tts("The incoming call")' )

ph_writefile("p:\chc_cid", 1, ph_getglobal_s("cid_name")) + ph_ssrequest("192.168.1.101", 8500, "chc", "test", "FORMULA", 'ph_tts("   is FROM    ") + ph_tts(ph_readfile("c:\powerhome\chc_cid"))' )

__________________
Pete - X10 Oldie
Back to Top View BeachBum's Profile Search for other posts by BeachBum
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: November 16 2007 at 10:32 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Pete,

If you've got 2 PowerHome systems running, they can just communicate back and forth to each using the Socket Server with no need to involve the DCC. Just enable the socket server on the receiving system and then use a phssrequest formula on the sending system such as you've got above. The DCC is really only intended to be a very slimmed down, "dumb" version of PowerHome.

The DCC is also capable of doing TTS all by itself. You could have multiple DCC clients on machines and communicate with them from PowerHome to do the TTS or other actions.

With multiple PowerHome clients, you *could* also use the UDP plugin along with the ph_sendudp function as a means of cross communication.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
BeachBum
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: April 11 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1880
Posted: November 16 2007 at 10:37 | IP Logged Quote BeachBum

Thanks Dave, I new there had to be a better way than transferring files with data. It makes it cumbersome to say the least.

__________________
Pete - X10 Oldie
Back to Top View BeachBum's Profile Search for other posts by BeachBum
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum