Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: Frustrated Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
ronbo404

Online Status: Offline
Posted: February 11 2008 at 07:28 | IP Logged Quote ronbo404

Hi

I am new to Powerhome and have read about how poor the documentation is. I am not a total idot I have an engineering degree and have done some programming in the past. But how do you guys use this stuff? I had no problem entering devices and my controller ( and checked that I can command on and off ok) but that is as far as I can go. I usuually learn by samples ( as I did with my Pronto philips remote, also poor documentation but many sample files to learn from) Where do I learn the basics how do you add remotelincs, and keypadlincs and control them. how do you do a simple timer? how do you link devices? Not interest in formulas and macros yet?

Should I be using houselinc for these simple functions is it easier to use?

Thanks for any input
Regards
Ron
Back to Top View ronbo404's Profile Search for other posts by ronbo404

TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Posted: February 11 2008 at 07:47 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

You are where we all were many years ago.

Check the Quick Start document. Also, take a look at my (old) tutorial. It's X10, but shows the concepts.
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage

judetf

Posted: February 11 2008 at 07:50 | IP Logged Quote judetf

I'm too new to be qualified to answer your question, but as a fellow non-total-idiot (but no engineering degree), I can both commiserate and offer encouragement.