Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: IOLinc Sense input Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
frodier
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 20 2007
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Posted: January 24 2009 at 19:48 | IP Logged Quote frodier

I installed a few 2450 IOLINCs ( 1 output relay/ 1 sense input)this weekend and they respond to standard insteon on/off commands for turning on or off the relay output.

The only thing left now is how to use the sense input. I basically need one function to poll the status of the input on or off and one function to create a trigger when there is a change of state on the input.

So far I linked the 2450 to group 1 on the powerlinc as a responder. From this point on I don't know what to do.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Frank
Back to Top View frodier's Profile Search for other posts by frodier
 
grif091
Super User
Super User


Joined: March 26 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1357
Posted: January 25 2009 at 09:31 | IP Logged Quote grif091

I don’t have an IOLinc but according to the Smarthome User Guide for the IOLinc the sensor is linked to other Insteon devices the same way any responder would be linked to a Controller. That means the IOLinc is sending Group commands to the Responder (PLM/PLC in your case) just as it would to a LampLinc or SwitchLinc. You should be able to define a trigger using Insteon Group In as the Trigger Type with a Trigger Value that matches the condition you want to be aware of (ON, OFF, Any) etc.

I did not see anything in the User Guide about querying the sensor status. You could try the standard 0x19 Status Request command and see what it returns when the sensor is On versus Off.



__________________
Lee G
Back to Top View grif091's Profile Search for other posts by grif091
 
frodier
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 20 2007
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Posted: January 25 2009 at 11:13 | IP Logged Quote frodier

Ok so following up on your lead, I checked the incoming PLC queue every time the sense input changes state and here is what I get-->


When sense input is shorted to ground-->
Incoming Insteon received on Insteon DM controller INSTEON PLC. From Address:[0F.89.F0] To Address:[05.0C.0C] Flags:[69] Cmd1:[19] Cmd2:[1]. Decode: Group Cleanup. From: IO_GAS_HEAT To: POWERLINC1 Group: 1, Off

When sense input is open -->
Incoming Insteon received on Insteon DM controller INSTEON PLC. From Address:[0F.89.F0] To Address:[05.0C.0C] Flags:[69] Cmd1:[17] Cmd2:[1]. Decode: Group Cleanup. From: IO_GAS_HEAT To: POWERLINC1 Group: 1, On


I don't understand why it's decoded as a group cleanup, Can I still use Inteon Group In as a trigger? I tried it and it doesn't seem to work unless I am doing something wrong.

Back to Top View frodier's Profile Search for other posts by frodier
 
grif091
Super User
Super User


Joined: March 26 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1357
Posted: January 25 2009 at 12:34 | IP Logged Quote grif091

A Group message sequence is made up of two messages. First a Group Broadcast is sent with no specific To device address followed by a Group Cleanup Direct message to every responder that has been linked to the Controller. The PLC is known for not tracing every message that appears on the powerline. Also it is possible that the IOLinc is not sending the Group Broadcast message but I doubt that. I think the Insteon Group In will trigger from the Group Cleanup Direct as there is no guaranty a responder will actually see the Group Broadcast because there is no ACK and no retry associated with that Insteon message.

What did you code for Trigger values and did you save the Trigger before running the IOLinc test.


__________________
Lee G
Back to Top View grif091's Profile Search for other posts by grif091
 
frodier
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 20 2007
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Posted: January 25 2009 at 13:28 | IP Logged Quote frodier

I tried the following-->

trigger type : insteon group in
trigger ID: IO_GAS_HEAT ( this is the 2450)
trigger ID NO : any
trigger value : ON (0x11)

I also tried trigger value : any

I see both group cleanups as pasted in the previous message but the trigger won't fire.

I saved and also re-initialized PH in case...
Back to Top View frodier's Profile Search for other posts by frodier
 
grif091
Super User
Super User


Joined: March 26 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1357
Posted: January 25 2009 at 13:49 | IP Logged Quote grif091

Sorry, I wish I had one to test to give you absolutes. All my Insteon Triggers are Insteon Group In but I also see the Group Broadcast messages. The next thing I would try is Insteon Device Chg with Any Any.
I changed one of my triggers from Insteon Group In to Insteon Device Chg and the trigger fires when I turn the switch on and off. Also confirm that the Boolean field in the trigger is 1


__________________
Lee G
Back to Top View grif091's Profile Search for other posts by grif091
 
BeachBum
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: April 11 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1880
Posted: January 25 2009 at 13:59 | IP Logged Quote BeachBum

You might test using Insteon Device Chg, any, any, any and if you then see it you can filter in the Boolean.

__________________
Pete - X10 Oldie
Back to Top View BeachBum's Profile Search for other posts by BeachBum
 
grif091
Super User
Super User


Joined: March 26 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1357
Posted: January 25 2009 at 14:22 | IP Logged Quote grif091

What release of PH are you running? Even 2.1b does not have a device type for the IOLinc. What device type did you specify for the IOLinc.

__________________
Lee G
Back to Top View grif091's Profile Search for other posts by grif091
 
frodier
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 20 2007
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Posted: January 25 2009 at 15:05 | IP Logged Quote frodier

I finally got it working with the Insteon Device Chg. Once I knew it could trigger I used the ON in the trigger value to filter an ON condition and that works too!

Thanks for the help...now I need to figure out if I can check the status with a poll. So far checking with a standard status request returns the conditon of the output relay and not the input sense.

Does the responder (PLC) remember the last condition coming from the controller? Maybe that is a way. Another way would be to link the 2450 to a virtual device or some switch in the house that I do not use to control a load and set it as a responder. Finally I can always set a global variable, but if PH somehow misses the event it's not failsafe.

It needs to be failsafe because I am using the IO to sense if my HVAC has switched from heat pump to natural gas in a dual fuel system.

I'll post if I get to figure it out .... in the meantime if anyone has any ideas for me to try..

Back to Top View frodier's Profile Search for other posts by frodier
 
frodier
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 20 2007
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Posted: January 25 2009 at 15:07 | IP Logged Quote frodier

Lee

I am using it set as a switchlinc relay device for lack of a proper device type.
Back to Top View frodier's Profile Search for other posts by frodier
 
grif091
Super User
Super User


Joined: March 26 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1357
Posted: January 25 2009 at 15:21 | IP Logged Quote grif091

Neither the PLC nor PLM keep track of individual device status. There may be a command that returns the state of the Input (sensor). The IOLinc looks similar to the SimpleHomeNet EZIOxx devices which have been around much longer and they do have a command that returns the state of the Inputs. Not likely Smarthome would document such a command (if it exists) to the general public. Could be in the Developer SDK documentation but that is a $200 expense that may not have any useful information.

__________________
Lee G
Back to Top View grif091's Profile Search for other posts by grif091
 
grif091
Super User
Super User


Joined: March 26 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1357
Posted: January 26 2009 at 10:43 | IP Logged Quote grif091

A post on the Smarthome forum provides the answer to the query of sensor status. Issue cmd1 0x19 cmd2 0x01, returns the on/off state of the sensor.

Edited by grif091 - January 26 2009 at 12:13


__________________
Lee G
Back to Top View grif091's Profile Search for other posts by grif091
 
frodier
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 20 2007
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Posted: January 26 2009 at 16:32 | IP Logged Quote frodier

Thanks Lee

Tried it as soon as I got home today and it works like a charm. I was getting so desperate yesterday that I was using an unused button on a KPL to store the state of the sensor...now this is much more elegant...

Frank
Back to Top View frodier's Profile Search for other posts by frodier
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum