Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: general questions about Powerhome Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
robl45
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: September 24 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Posted: September 24 2009 at 10:42 | IP Logged Quote robl45

I'm a newbee to all of this so bear with me here.

What exactly is powerhome used for? I understand it controls X10 and Insteon devices and such. Somehow it seems it will control hometheatre as well but I'm guessing only with usb uart or whatever it is? Does it integrate with windows media center or do anything with DVD's? I'd kinda like to have a little touch screen computer or iphone, ipod touch or whatever and be able to control all my lights and home theatre devices
Back to Top View robl45's Profile Search for other posts by robl45
 
onhiatus
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: May 12 2004
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Posted: September 24 2009 at 17:36 | IP Logged Quote onhiatus

There are several ways PowerHome can control things. It can send a signal via wire or RF to an X10 or Insteon device using a controller. It can connect to things via sockets, it can hit webpages, etc.

I use PH to control a vista media center box - take a look at the opensource Vista Media Center TCP/IP Controller project. It implements a socket and http interface which pretty much allows you to completely control Media Center. Note that it does not work with XP, and some functionality does not work with Win7.

I use PH to serve the web pages, report statuses, and run schedules. For VMC control I have the web pages directly talk to the VMC TCP/IP Controller via http - that way there is no lag.

For my touch screens I use the Nokia 770, though I've been planying with an iPod touch and I'm thinking I'll start coding towards it.

Interesting links:
- Here's a simple remote web app for an iPod Touch or iPhone that talks to a VMC controller to simpulate a Windows Media remote: http://www.onhiatus.com/ha/remote.html
- Here's a previous post showing what my controller pages looked like a few iterations ago (not Safari or Chrome friendly, so doesn't work right from an iPhone): Topic: My wall screen interface

Have fun! Tony
Back to Top View onhiatus's Profile Search for other posts by onhiatus Visit onhiatus's Homepage
 
robl45
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: September 24 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Posted: September 24 2009 at 18:13 | IP Logged Quote robl45

I went over the links, the remote thing looks cool, although seems to be pretty big for a ipod.    the media center thing is nice, but if it doesn't work for windows 7, its not that much use. are there any other ways to get media center to work? I guess you could use a usb-uirt and another ir receiver to feed back into the machine but since the powerhome can only use one usb-uirt, that doesn't seem to be feasible.

how do you code the touch screens? is it just simply normal webpages optimized for certain browsers or something? I assume powerhome has the template functions to code the things?
Back to Top View robl45's Profile Search for other posts by robl45
 
robl45
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: September 24 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Posted: September 25 2009 at 11:30 | IP Logged Quote robl45

would something like the below help?


http://www.niveusmedia.com/products/softlabs.html
Back to Top View robl45's Profile Search for other posts by robl45
 
robl45
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: September 24 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Posted: September 25 2009 at 11:54 | IP Logged Quote robl45

windows media center has keyboard commands, can powerhome put out keyboard commands or something.
Back to Top View robl45's Profile Search for other posts by robl45
 
onhiatus
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: May 12 2004
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Posted: September 28 2009 at 13:43 | IP Logged Quote onhiatus

FYI - There will be a Win7 compatible release for the VMC TCP/ IP remote plugin soon (next day or two). Only problem is that the EPG stuff will be disabled (that's the compatability issue right now).
Back to Top View onhiatus's Profile Search for other posts by onhiatus Visit onhiatus's Homepage
 
robl45
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: September 24 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Posted: September 28 2009 at 14:46 | IP Logged Quote robl45

not sure what epg stuff is. I read the manual for powerhome and it says it can put out keyboard commands, wouldn't the simplest way be to control media center with keyboard commands?
Back to Top View robl45's Profile Search for other posts by robl45
 
onhiatus
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: May 12 2004
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Posted: September 29 2009 at 14:09 | IP Logged Quote onhiatus

EPG == TV Guide (Electronic Program Guide) - the stuff needed for Tivo like functionality

If powerhome is running on the same machine then keyboard commands can do some of the control (pause / play / etc). Keyboard commands are not good for navigation (since you probably do not know where youa re starting) or searching or playing a specific album, etc.

Are you planning on running Powerhome on the same box as media center?
Back to Top View onhiatus's Profile Search for other posts by onhiatus Visit onhiatus's Homepage
 
robl45
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: September 24 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Posted: September 29 2009 at 19:21 | IP Logged Quote robl45

I was thinking I would probably run it on the same box, is that a bad idea? as I understand, there should be a keyboard shortcut for everything. The win7 TCP/IP plugin may be a better solution. I'm pretty new to all of this stuff as you can tell.
Back to Top View robl45's Profile Search for other posts by robl45
 
onhiatus
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: May 12 2004
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Posted: October 01 2009 at 18:35 | IP Logged Quote onhiatus

I guess if it's a capable enough machine it should be ok.

I run Power Home on a fairly lightweight machine in the attic - it runs the machine pretty near capacity, but like I said, it's not much of a machine.

I believe VMC can also be pretty hard on resources and assume that Win7 MC will be similar. So you may have perf issues.

Ignoring that, then yes, you should be able to use powerhome to send keystrokes to pause, play, FF, etc. Again it will be difficult when you want to play a specific song, or go look at photos or any of that.

Have fun! Tony
Back to Top View onhiatus's Profile Search for other posts by onhiatus Visit onhiatus's Homepage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: October 06 2009 at 14:53 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

It sounds like the DCC (Distributed Control Client) for PowerBuilder may be what you're looking for. With it running on a remote machine (in this case the media center PC), PowerHome could send keystrokes or Windows messages to the currently running apps. I currently use the DCC on my SageTV machine to control it from PowerHome with Windows messages.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum