Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: X10 Security Devices Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
rmackay
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: December 15 2003
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: January 02 2004 at 02:29 | IP Logged Quote rmackay

Hi there,

With my WGL800RF32, I can supposedly detect when X10 security devices send an open  / close signal, etc. If I just bought some DS10A's and DW534's, how do I go about determing what unit each one is, what house code they would be on, etc?

Thank you,

Robert

Back to Top View rmackay's Profile Search for other posts by rmackay
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2889
Posted: January 02 2004 at 09:22 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

I recently picked up a DS10A and tested it out. I used the test program that comes with the W800 (rf32.exe) to determine the codes.

When the door/window sensor fires, I get two sets of unit/data codes, U:209 D:132 and U:209 D:4. I'm taking that as 209 for door/window sensor, 132 for make, and, 4 for break. In my system, if I trigger the doorbell macro on 209/4, I get lots of false hits. I've found that looking for 209/132 works better.

I think that all of these use the same codes, so, you would not be able to tell them apart. Maybe not, though.

Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
rmackay
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: December 15 2003
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: January 02 2004 at 10:55 | IP Logged Quote rmackay

If you take the batteries out for an extended amount of time (several hours) and put them back in, you get a different unit code. I found the following so far...

0=Delayed Open
4=Instant Open
128=Delayed Close
132=Instant Close

For MS10A sensor
12 and 140 for Motion (not sure difference yet)

On the Powerhorn...

Send ON for Steady-Siren
Send BRIGHT for Chime
Send DIM for Chime-Siren

 

Regards - Robert

Back to Top View rmackay's Profile Search for other posts by rmackay
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2889
Posted: January 02 2004 at 11:42 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

Good news on the DS10A. Thanks for the info!

I was going to set up a "fun" device using one of these... A big, nondescript red button. This would sound an alarm, turn off all the lights, or, something else startling.

Tony

Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: January 02 2004 at 11:56 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

The security devices do not have Housecodes per say and instead have a 0 to 255 unit code.  The unitcode is randomly determined when the batteries are installed.  My understanding is that some devices have a button that allow you to force a new unitcode selection.

In addition to the unitcode, a message code is transmitted.  This message code can be from 0 to 255 as well.  From my reading, it appears that each device has its own set of message codes so you can determine what kind of device the code originated from.

With this protocol, you could theoretically have up to 255 unique devices.

Below is an excerpt from the W800RF32 protocol document:

Large security remote (SH624):
        (has a min/max delay slide switch below the buttons)
        ARM HOME (min)  0x70
        ARM AWAY (min)  0x60
        ARM HOME (max)  0x50
        ARM AWAY (max)  0x40
        DISARM          0x41
        SEC. LIGHT ON   0x42
        SEC. LIGHT OFF  0x43
        PANIC           0x44

Pendant (KF574):
        ARM             0x60  (this is apparently min delay mode)
        DISARM          0x61
        LIGHTS ON       0x62
        LIGHTS OFF      0x63

Old door/window sensor (DW 534)
        NORMAL          0x21 (for when security violation is removed)
        ALERT           0x20 (for when sensor is tripped)
        Supervision Code: transmits a NORMAL

New door/window sensor
        NORMAL          0x31
        ALERT           0x30

The document has some additional codes in binary format as well.  Ive found that the best way to determine the codes is just as you guys are doing.  Play with it and see what comes back.  As I get more familiar with the extended protocol, I'll add some specific functionality within PowerHome .

Dave.

 

Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
rmackay
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: December 15 2003
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: January 02 2004 at 23:59 | IP Logged Quote rmackay

Hmmm, x20/x21 or x30/x31 (depending on Window Sensor model) does not make sense, as the NORMAL/ALERT codes are not 1 different, but rather 0/128, 4/132, etc. (I am assuming that x30 was hex 30?)
Back to Top View rmackay's Profile Search for other posts by rmackay
 
rmackay
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: December 15 2003
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: January 03 2004 at 02:39 | IP Logged Quote rmackay

How do I create a trigger for a security device such as the Door/Window Sensor? I am using the WGL800RF32.
Back to Top View rmackay's Profile Search for other posts by rmackay
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2889
Posted: January 03 2004 at 08:55 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

The way I did it was to make the trigger type "X-10 RF In Ext" and the Trigger ID "Any". I then qualify the unit and data codes in my macro by checking TEMP3 and TEMP4 for unit and data codes, respectively.

My jump code at the beginning is...

if( "[TEMP3]" = "209" and "[TEMP4]" = "132", 1, 999)

If it makes it to the next line of the macro, it is from my door/window sensor for the doorbell.

HTH - Tony

Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum