Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: Growl Support Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: April 05 2011 at 16:57 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

Dave, have you thought about adding Growl support for PH?
http://www.growlforwindows.com/gfw/help/gntp.aspx
Growl is a real nice desktop & smartphone notification system. Just like how you get a
small window down by your system tray when you get an email, we could configure growl
to say "Bedroom motion detected", or "garage Door open", or "Laundry Room Lights On".
What's more, we could get those same notifications on our android & iphone cell phones.

__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
raven77m
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 31 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Posted: April 05 2011 at 20:53 | IP Logged Quote raven77m

MrGibbage wrote:
Dave, have you thought about adding Growl support for PH?
http://www.growlforwindows.com/gfw/help/gntp.aspx
Growl is a real nice desktop & smartphone notification system. Just like how you get a
small window down by your system tray when you get an email, we could configure growl
to say "Bedroom motion detected", or "garage Door open", or "Laundry Room Lights On".
What's more, we could get those same notifications on our android & iphone cell phones.

I'm with MrGibbagel!!
Shouldn't be to hard to implement and would be awesome for use with an iPhone or other smartphone!
Back to Top View raven77m's Profile Search for other posts by raven77m
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: April 05 2011 at 22:16 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

I am not anywhere near the programmer that Dave is, but I don't think this would be hard to implement at all considering some of the past projects I've seen from him. By the way, there is a Home Seer app for growl already. PH needs to be next.


__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: April 06 2011 at 16:20 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Hmmm...took a quick look and definitely looks interesting. Looks fairly simple. I'll look into creating a plugin for PowerHome in the next couple of weeks.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: April 06 2011 at 22:00 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

Whoo hoo, thanks Dave!

__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: April 09 2011 at 14:50 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

Dave, while you are at it, you might also want to take a look at Snarl, a very similar windows program. I believe they use the same API and network protocols.
https://sites.google.com/site/snarlapp/home

Skip

__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: April 21 2011 at 22:24 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

The GNTP protocol is very easy to work with. The following code works quite well

ph_sendsocketdata("192.168.1.100",23053, "GNTP/1.0 REGISTER NONE MD5:049C7F55F985FB7D3C4A7778ADABED41.1234
Application-Name: PowerHome
Application-Icon: http://pelorus.org/pictures/pwrhome.jpg
Notifications-Count: 2

Notification-Name: Alarm
Notification-Display-Name: Alarm
Notification-Icon: http://pelorus.org/pictures/pwrhome.jpg
Notification-Enabled: True

Notification-Name: Zone Violation
Notification-Display-Name: Zone Violated
Notification-Icon: http://pelorus.org/pictures/pwrhome.jpg
Notification-Enabled: True

")

ph_sendsocketdata("192.168.1.100",23053, "GNTP/1.0 NOTIFY NONE MD5:049C7F55F985FB7D3C4A7778ADABED41.1234
Application-Name: PowerHome
Notification-Name: Alarm
Notification-Title: Alarm is Sounding
Notification-Text: Front Door Violated

")

What I need now is a clever way to create the MD5 password hashes in powerhome. For testing purposes, Growl has a website to generate the MD5 hashes
http://www.growlforwindows.com/gfw/help/keychecker.aspx

The steps for generating the hash are

The password is converted an UTF8 byte array
A cryptographically secure salt is generated (should be between 4 and 16 bytes)
The salt bytes are appended to the password bytes to form the key basis
The key is generated by computing the hash of the key basis using one of the supported hashing algorithms
The key hash is produced by computing the hash of the key (using the same hashing algorithm used in step 4) and hex-encoding it to a fixed-length string

Any chance we could get some MD5 utilities in PH?



__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: April 29 2011 at 12:59 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Skip,

If you're running the beta, check out the new ph_getmd5hash function. It takes a single string parameter and returns a hexadecimal verson of the md5 hash. I tried comparing it to the MD5 hashes generated by keychecker page above but I didnt get any matches. I may not have entering the data correctly though so I'd be curious what your testing reveals.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: July 12 2011 at 13:11 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

Dave,
I have not had a chance to try your MD5 suggestion, but I was wondering if you have had a chance to look into writing
a plugin for this?

By the way, is there an API that developers can use to create plugins for PH?

__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: July 18 2011 at 17:27 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Skip,

Taking a break from the 1-wire development while I wait for some user responses so have started work on the plugin. I'll keep you posted on how it proceeds but it shouldnt take too long. I'll also post a complete Visual Studio 2008 plugin skeleton project (Ive been promising this for awhile and keep getting sidetracked). Check the Help file (where the functions are documented) for details on the plugin SDK.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: August 03 2011 at 18:22 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Just a quick update...

The growl plugin is coming along well. Ive implemented send capability with both socket and URL callbacks so far. Will start working with being able to accept forwarded messages so PowerHome can also receive Growl messages and fire triggers.

Another week or so and it should be rolled out.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: August 03 2011 at 18:41 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

That is awesome news Dave! Thanks so much!

Is there anything I can do to help? (besides testing once
it is up and running--of course I will do that)

Skip

__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: August 05 2011 at 15:26 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Skip,
Help me out, I am having a hard time see how this will be really useful.

After reading, and even installing Growl on one of my machines, I am not sure what it will do that I can't do nicely already.

For example, the Iphone notifications are nice, but I can send different SMS message to my iphone already (different tones and the whole bit).

In conjuction with "Prowl", the ability to re-direct/launch iphone applications based of Prowl/Growl notifications is neat, but not many applications (that I use) support this.

If you able, I would appreciate some ideas that you have....I think I am missing some good HA ideas.

Thanks,
Steve

__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: August 05 2011 at 15:49 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

I look at it like this. I like to use Growl to manage all
of my notifications. To me, text messages are for me and
my friends to communicate. It isn't bad to use SMS for
Home Automation, but for me, I like the central
management of the notifications. Besides, you can also
forward messages from one computer running Growl to
another computer running growl. So, if I want to get a
popup on my screen at work whenever my garage door opens,
it would be very easy. Do I need a text message every
time my garage door opens? Somehow I think that is
overkill. Not every time my garage door opens is
something bad happening. It might just be my wife or
daughter coming home or leaving.
I use Growl to send notifications to my phone for severe
weather alerts, baseball scores, web server problems, and
stuff like that.
I don't have an iPhone, so I don't know too much about
Prowl. Android users have the ability to use a program
called "Notify my Android" to receive messages from
Growl.
I hope that helps.

Skip

__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: September 01 2011 at 07:59 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

Hi Dave. Just wondering how this is coming along. I know you have a lot on your plate, so
don't feel pressured.


__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: September 19 2011 at 23:03 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Skip,

Im working real hard to get it out before this Thursday (because thats when I leave the country for 2 weeks ).

I'll keep you posted.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: September 20 2011 at 05:59 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

Thanks, Dave. Sounds great. The growl developer, Brian
Dunnington, is very active on his google group if you need
any help.
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/growl-for-windows
So, where are you heading? I hope it's somewhere exciting.
Have fun anyway :)

__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: September 20 2011 at 13:39 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Korea. Wife is Korean so we're going to visit the family. Should be a welcome break .

I'll check out the Growl development group.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: September 21 2011 at 21:13 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

The Growl plugin is done. You can get it here: http://www.power-home.com/download/phgrowl.zip.

I was going to create an installer but ran out time so it'll have to be a manual installation.

First thing to do is extract the phgrowl.zip file to temporary directory. Move cswskax6.ocx and cswsvax6.ocx to your system32 directory (typically c:\windows\system32). Move phavatar.png to the PowerHome web directory (usually c:\powerhome\web or c:\program files\powerhome\web). Move the rest of the files to the PowerHome plugin directory (usually c:\powerhome\plugins or c:\program files\powerhome\plugins).

With all the files in the proper location, you'll need to register the activex controls. For the two in the system32 directory, you'll run the following two commands:

regsvr32 "c:\windows\system32\cswskax6.ocx"
regsvr32 "c:\windows\system32\cswsvax6.ocx"

Next register the phgrowl.ocx with the following line:

regsvr32 "c:\powerhome\plugins\phgrowl.ocx"

You may need to adjust the above depending upon your PowerHome location.

Next, you'll need to edit the phgrowl.ini file for the proper settings. Parameters are documented within the ini file. You'll also want to look at the .txt files that were included for additional documentation.

Let me know how it goes.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
MrGibbage
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: October 23 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Posted: September 21 2011 at 21:48 | IP Logged Quote MrGibbage

Got an error on the installation. When I went to register
the ocx files, I got "The module
c:\windows\system32\cswsvax6.ocx failed to load. I did
check to make sure it was installed in the right place, and
it is.

Could it be because I am on 64 bit windows vista?

__________________
Skip
Back to Top View MrGibbage's Profile Search for other posts by MrGibbage
 

Page of 2 Next >>
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum