Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: Avoiding the Bright before the Dim Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
briguy

Online Status: Offline
Posted: April 21 2004 at 19:45 | IP Logged Quote briguy

Hello,

I'm rather new to this X10 and Power Home thing (and enjoying every minute of it). This is also my first post to a message board, so here goes...

I have several (WS4777) X10 switches hooked up. I want my motion sensor to gently bring the hall light to 50% in the evenings. Is this possible without having the lights turn on at 100% before going to 50%? (Good God, that does interesting things to your dialated pupils in the middle of the night!)

I've played around with dim in my macros a bit and can't seem to get the result I want. I either get the bright-then-dim behavior, or dim-to-brighter-to-brighter behavior (which I'm guessing is my bad use of "relative" dim). 

Thanks

Back to Top View briguy's Profile Search for other posts by briguy

TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Posted: April 21 2004 at 21:32 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

Welcome briguy!

What you want to do is make sure that you don't ever turn the light off, but, dim it to zero. Then, when you do a bright, is will start from zero.

You could also invest in more expensive modules that have preset dim.

You decide!

Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage

briguy

Posted: April 23 2004 at 13:29 | IP Logged Quote briguy

That did the trick - Thanks!

Back to Top View briguy's Profile Search for other posts by briguy

onhiatus

Posted: May 12 2004 at 16:35 | IP Logged Quote onhiatus

Note that I read somewhere that a fulling dimmed module is still using 2.5 watts as opposed to <.5w when off.