Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: Insteon All Off / All On Commands Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
ronbo404

Online Status: Offline
Posted: February 14 2008 at 07:46 | IP Logged Quote ronbo404

Hi Newbie here

Is this possible and if so how

1) Can you limit which devices respond to all-off and all-on command on a remotelinc and or a keypad linc

2) Can the all-on and all-off command on the remote link be changed to a desired ramp rate rather than fast on fast off

Thanks
Ron
Back to Top View ronbo404's Profile Search for other posts by ronbo404

cmhardwick

Posted: February 14 2008 at 10:01 | IP Logged Quote cmhardwick

for both, (and this would involve more than what I'm saying here), it is possible. I never use the insteon default 255 group (which is the all devices group). I created my own because I wanted a group of JUST LIGHTS and wanted them to fade out, like you are asking about in question 2. You should be able to create a trigger of some sort to catch the all off button (should be a group 255 fast off or fast on) and basically reroute it. At least that's how it should work.
KeypadLincs don't have an all off/all on button unless you create one. ControlLincs do (the big desktop devices). HOwever, this all off/all on is a mis-nomer as it only controls all devices linked to the controller, not all devices in the house. I'm not sure, but would expect the all off/on buttons on the remotelinc to behave the same way, only controlling the devices linked to it, not every device on the network.

dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group

Posted: February 19 2008 at 10:47 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Ron,