Author |
|
JimmyL Newbie
Joined: March 26 2010 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 32
|
Posted: March 26 2010 at 17:41 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I switched from HouseLinc2 to PH2 about six weeks ago. With very little programming experience, PowerHome was a little overwhelming at first; however, after reading through most of the forum posts I’ve gained a fairly good understanding of macros and such. Just like everyone else, I’m now hooked on PowerHome’s capabilities and love the flexibility it provides – there’s no going back now!
That said, I’d like to use macros to control my Russound CAV6.6 whole house audio system via the pc’s com port but haven’t gotten it to work yet. I’m using a straight through RS232 cable to connect my PH computer to the CAV6.6 (the Russound manual specifies that the CAV6.6 DB9 connector pin 2 is Transmit and pin 3 is Receive). The Russound com port spec is: 19200 baud rate, 1 Start bit, 1 Stop bit, No flow control, No parity. When I use ph_comopensimple(1,1,”19200,N,8,1”,”macroname”) I get a response which fires the “macroname” macro but I haven’t been able to get the CAV6.6 to act; i.e., turn on Zone 1, when I send a hex data command. The hex code for “Zone 1 On” is “F0 00 00 7F 00 00 70 05 02 02 00 00 F1 23 00 01 00 00 00 01 12 F7”. What should the ph_comsendstring() command look like? I’ve tried numerous combinations but none have worked. Or is it that it’s more complicated than just opening the com port and sending the hex code?
Thanks for any help
__________________ Jimmy
|
Back to Top |
|
|
nadler Super User
Joined: February 25 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 354
|
Posted: March 26 2010 at 17:54 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Dave is the expert on this, but you might get some ideas by
looking at my macros for my Denon receiver. It doesn't use
hex code but it should be of some help.
http://www.power-home.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?
TID=2008&KW=denon
Noel
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: March 26 2010 at 20:16 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Probably the best way to accomplish Russound CAV control is to use the plugin that Ive developed. Its not entirely finished but basic control should be complete. This plugin should already be in the plugins directory of PowerHome.
To set this up, the first thing to do is to edit the phrussound.ini file. I don't believe the one distributed with PowerHome is the correct one so Im attaching the proper one to this post. Download it and copy it to the plugins directory where the ph_russound.ocx plugin resides. Once you've got the ini file in the proper location, open it in notepad to edit it. Under the [config] section, set the port to the COM port you've attached your CAV to on the PowerHome machine. You can leave all the other settings blank for now. Save the file.
Open the PowerHome Explorer and under PowerHome|Setup|Plugins, create a new line (or use the existing blank line if you've got no plugins defined). Give the plugin an appropriate ID (CAV should be fine) and under the Launch Data, copy and paste "PH_Russound.phrussound" without the double quotes. Under the Initialization data, put the full path and filename to the INI file. If you installed PowerHome in the default directory, this will be: c:\program files\powerhome\plugins\phrussound.ini. Make sure that "Active" is checked and close the PowerHome Explorer. Reinitialize PowerHome and once it restarts, open the Help|About|Plugins window and check that the Russound Controller Plugin is properly initialized and enabled.
With that complete, you should now be able control your CAV using the ph_picmd function. To turn on Zone 1, use the following function:
ph_picmd(5,"CAV",0,1,1,"on","")
This assumes that you named your plugin ID with CAV. If you used a different ID, then make the appropriate substitutions in your function call.
The first parameter is the timeout in seconds. Ive used 5. The second parameter is the plugin ID. The third parameter should be set to 0 for most commands. The fourth parameter should be set to 1. The fifth parameter is the zone you're sending commands to. The sixth parameter is the command. The last parameter should be an empty string. To turn on zone 2, the function would look like:
ph_picmd(5,"CAV",0,1,2,"on","")
Below are the commands (sixth parameter) that are available:
on
off
volup
voldn
allon
alloff
power
src
prev
next
plus
minus
play
stop
pause
f1
f2
remotekey
setsrc
setvol
When using the setsrc command, use the third parameter to set the appropriate source number 1 thru 6). When using the setvol command, use the third parameter to set the volume level (0 thru 99).
I'll be working on this plugin some more after Im through with the next beta. Let me know how it goes for you.
Dave.
2010-03-26_201616_phrussound.ini.txt
|
Back to Top |
|
|
JimmyL Newbie
Joined: March 26 2010 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 32
|
Posted: March 26 2010 at 23:55 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Well that could not have been more simple. The plugin works great and the curretly available commands will take care of all my basic needs. I look forward to the fully functional plugin but in the meantime I've got plenty to keep me busy.
Thanks,
__________________ Jimmy
|
Back to Top |
|
|
moniputer Groupie
Joined: October 27 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 44
|
Posted: March 27 2010 at 10:41 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Any plans for a NUVO Grand Concerto plugin?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
patrickm Senior Member
Joined: February 22 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 188
|
Posted: March 31 2010 at 14:41 | IP Logged
|
|
|
A Nuvo plugin would be great.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
|
|