Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: RedRat3 is here! Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
fanningp
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Posted: May 05 2004 at 17:15 | IP Logged Quote fanningp

Well...the RR3 is here..took 5 days....got the pyramids a couple of days ago.....I'm all set to play.....

I'm new to the IR game so it'll be fun.....I have all the software and drivers installed for the RR, including the SDK...so I'm off to dinner and will probably get back to bed late :)

TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Posted: May 05 2004 at 20:36 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

Keep us posted!
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage

fanningp
Groupie
Groupie

Posted: May 05 2004 at 23:12 | IP Logged Quote fanningp

It's going great....I had a bit of a problem and had to uninstall the SDK, reinstall the runtime, then reinstall the SDK to get Powerhome to recognize the Redrat3...but after that everything was peachy....

One of the things I'd like to be able to do is to do an "All shutdown" type event at say, 1am....but how do you tell if a TV or VCR is on or off?  I could wind up turning things on instead of off by issuing a POWER IR command, couldn't I?

That would be damn irritating at 1am in the morning I would imagine.....

Other than that I've been having fun......such a nice tool to have.

TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Posted: May 05 2004 at 23:25 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

There are "discrete codes" that can be sent that are just for on or off (not a toggle command). I'm not sure what would be required to get the RR3 to send these. I can do it with a real programmable remote.

Maybe Dave knows?

I can help get you the codes if you tell me the make/models.