Author |
|
doctorjerry Groupie
Joined: November 10 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 57
|
Posted: October 05 2008 at 21:00 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I need help setting up and controlling an EZIO2X4 unit.
I added the unit type, checking Keypadlinc and setting groups to 4.
In Insteon Explorer Links tab, it shows the PLC linked as a controller.
It also shows up in the KPL config tab.
How do I access the two output relays. I use each one as a mechanical switch. I'd like to control them with macros.
__________________ Jerome
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jbbtex Senior Member
Joined: February 15 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 181
|
Posted: October 05 2008 at 21:27 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Look at this:
http://power-home.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1804&KW=ctlr cmd
__________________ Brady
"Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - Gen. George S. Patton
|
Back to Top |
|
|
doctorjerry Groupie
Joined: November 10 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 57
|
Posted: October 05 2008 at 23:05 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I changed the address to my plc and tried the command. I can hear a click in the EZIO perhaps indicating some internal action, but I can't detect what's happening. I don't fully understand the formula. What is command 48. What is command 01. Are these explained anywhere?
__________________ Jerome
|
Back to Top |
|
|
grif091 Super User
Joined: March 26 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1357
|
Posted: October 06 2008 at 02:23 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Go to the Simplehomenet web site, Support/Download section and pull down "EZIOxx Advanced Details and Command Set" file. It covers the 0x48 cmd1 (Write Output Port) and cmd2 value 0x01 which is the value written into the Output Port. You have to be careful doing it this way because the value in the Output Port affects both Output Relays.
If you have a continuity checker or ohm meter you can measure across the EZIO2X4 connections R1_A and R1_B to determine the Relay 1 state. These are the NO relays contacts for Output 1. R2_A and R2_B are the NO relays contacts for Output 2.
You can think of the Outputs of an EZIO2X4 like an ApplicanceLinc except the EZIO2X4 has two outputs, where the ApplicanceLinc has only 1. That same document I referenced earlier shows the values needed in a responder link record to control either Relay 1 or Relay 2. If you link to each of the EZIO2X4 relays, you do not need to worry about what the state of relay 2 is when turning relay 1 on or off with a Group Cleanup Direct command.
__________________ Lee G
|
Back to Top |
|
|
doctorjerry Groupie
Joined: November 10 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 57
|
Posted: October 06 2008 at 11:46 | IP Logged
|
|
|
My use of the command was based on a suggestion in the Forum. In fact I haven't a clue to what it means or does because I do not yet have command of the Insteon command language. Perhap's its best I start at the beginning.
I have connected the EZIO2X4 to a WaterCop, which is a solenoid valve connected to the house water supply.
Output relays R1 and R2 are connected in parallel to the momentary switches that turn the valve open or closed.
Inputs I1+ and I2+ are connected in parallel to indicator lights that show the valve either open or closed.
Using the Simplehomenet utility I can operate the WaterCop by toggling the relays on and off (to simulate a momentary switch). I can monitor the valve position by reading the states of Input 1 and 2.
As I see it, I need commands to:
1. Turn relay 1 On
2. Turn relay 1 Off
3. Turn relay 2 On
4. Turn relay 2 Off
5. Read state of Input1
6. Read state of Input2
With such commands I would use a macro to toggle the relays and simulate a momentary switch. I would use a trigger detect the states of the inputs.
Is my thinking correct? Any suggestions and/or instructions would be appreciated.
__________________ Jerome
|
Back to Top |
|
|
grif091 Super User
Joined: March 26 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1357
|
Posted: October 06 2008 at 13:47 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I am familiar with the EZIO2X4. There are three of them installed around the house and garage. If you want to use native Insteon devices, such as a KeypadLinc to control and monitor the EZIO2X4, I can guide you through that process. A pair of Keypadlinc buttons could display the EZIO2X4 Input states (water valve state) and a pair of Keypadlinc buttons could be used to control the EZIO2X4 Output relays and therefore control the water valve. However, I think the Simplehomenet forum would be a more logical place for those discussions as they have nothing to do with PH.
I am a big fan of PowerHome, have had it for many months and went to PH2 as soon as it became available, but I don't use it for much HA at this point. It is primarily a link management, network management tool for me. Someone else on this forum with PH HA knowledge will have to provide suggestions using PH function.
__________________ Lee G
|
Back to Top |
|
|
doctorjerry Groupie
Joined: November 10 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 57
|
Posted: October 07 2008 at 00:48 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I found your entries on the Simplehomenet forums. The garage project is excellent. I do eventually plan to use another EZIO2x4 and duplicate your setup. But I was really hoping to use Powerhome for the programming. To check the doors at midnight and close them if open.
So far I have been able create formulae to access the two relays.
ph_ctlrcmd("INSTEON_PLC",5000,0,0,"!sendinsteonraw=00 00 00 01 74 F9 0F 48 01","") --- turns on relay one.
ph_ctlrcmd("INSTEON_PLC",5000,0,0,"!sendinsteonraw=00 00 00 01 74 F9 0F 48 02","") --- turns on relay two.
I use 2 second timers (set with the simplehomenet utility) on each relay to turn off the relay thus creating a momentary switch function.
Now I just need a formula to access the inputs.
__________________ Jerome
|
Back to Top |
|
|
grif091 Super User
Joined: March 26 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1357
|
Posted: October 07 2008 at 03:56 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Cmd1 0x49, cmd2 00 returns the state of the 4 Inputs in the low order 4 bits of cmd2.
0x01 = Input 1 ON
0x02 = Input 2 ON
0x04 = Input 3 ON
0x08 = Input 4 ON
Multiple bits can be on together. If Input 1 and Input 2 were both on the returned value would be 0x03. If you Read Inputs under the SHN Utility and then look at the Insteon Traffic tab, you will see the returned value. There is a ph_ctlrcmd1 which returns the values in Local variables. How you access and dissect the returned value is unknown to me.
Edited by grif091 - October 07 2008 at 04:08
__________________ Lee G
|
Back to Top |
|
|
grif091 Super User
Joined: March 26 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1357
|
Posted: October 08 2008 at 14:01 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I found a higher level interface to control the EZIO2X4 Outputs and to read the Input states.
ph_insteon("TEST EZIO2X4",72,1) turn on output 1
ph_insteon("TEST EZIO2X4",72,0) turn off outputs
ph_insteonwithret("TEST EZIO2X4",73,0) returns the value returned in cmd2
In a macro I did a SET Global, using the ph_insteonwithret formula. I used a Global variable only because you can display the Global variable content using Powerhome Explorer. The Global variable contained a 15 (0x0f) when all 4 inputs are on.
__________________ Lee G
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: February 17 2010 at 21:03 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks for these posts!
I just picked up a 2X4 for my garage project (overhead door sensing/control and other inpus).
I didn't know it did analog, too! Now I have to put a pot on my overhead door for absolute position sensing!
|
Back to Top |
|
|