Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: Raw Log File Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
BeachBum
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: April 11 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1880
Posted: July 25 2008 at 11:27 | IP Logged Quote BeachBum

Is there a way to turn the “Echo Raw Log to File” on and off programmatically in the Insteon Explorer? I would like to copy the file then reinitialize it to control its size.

__________________
Pete - X10 Oldie
Back to Top View BeachBum's Profile Search for other posts by BeachBum
 
BeachBum
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: April 11 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1880
Posted: March 14 2009 at 09:59 | IP Logged Quote BeachBum

BUMP...

It’s been awhile. The problem I have is the “Echo Raw Log to File” intermittently stops and the checked box is unchecked. I was hoping there was a way though SQL or another to start the log with a command.


__________________
Pete - X10 Oldie
Back to Top View BeachBum's Profile Search for other posts by BeachBum
 
GadgetGuy
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: June 01 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 942
Posted: January 14 2013 at 14:15 | IP Logged Quote GadgetGuy

Pete -

This may not be the fastest response to one of your
postings, BUT I'm with ya' here, bud!

I just discovered the need to do the same thing myself.

Since no one has responded in 4-5 years, I'm thinkin' that
maybe this isn't possible.   

Whatdaya think?   

__________________
Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
Back to Top View GadgetGuy's Profile Search for other posts by GadgetGuy
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: January 15 2013 at 16:20 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Took awhile to figure it out but give this a try.
Code:
ph_sendkeysmq(ph_findwindowex(ph_findwindowex(ph_findwindowe x(ph_handle(),0,0,"MDIClient",0),0,0,"Insteon Explorer",1),0,0,"Echo Raw Log to File",1)," ")


Of course, Insteon Explorer has to already be open.

Dave.

*Edit - Of course the board messed up the code a little. There is an extra space in the 3rd ph_findwindowex function that needs to be removed.



Edited by dhoward - January 15 2013 at 16:24
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
GadgetGuy
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: June 01 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 942
Posted: January 15 2013 at 17:56 | IP Logged Quote GadgetGuy

Dave -

You are soooo smart it is scary!

OK. If that works, how do you do then turn OFF the Raw
capture.

Using a "0" for the last argument in the Echo... string?

__________________
Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
Back to Top View GadgetGuy's Profile Search for other posts by GadgetGuy
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: January 15 2013 at 21:28 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Nope, same command turns it off. It's like a toggle

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
GadgetGuy
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: June 01 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 942
Posted: January 16 2013 at 08:40 | IP Logged Quote GadgetGuy

Dave -

Put that in a macro, but it won't work. If I make a
single line macro, for simplicity in testing, and put the
sendkey formula in that line. It works if I "Verify"
test the line, but if I "Play" the macro nothing happens.

I tried Playing with a right-click on the open macro
window in Insteon Explorer, as well as trying to "Run"
the test macro from the Macro/Formula field in the top
tool bar pane.

I'm guessing that the findwindow attempt needs to account
for something a little different (which is probably what
you were indicating in your "explorer window open"
comment.

Can this be made to run from a macro? What I'm trying to
do is automate the Discovery of new Insteon devices added
to my system. I've found that PH seems to work more
reliably if I get the Types setup correct and there are
so many new devices now that are different from the
predefined Types Table database.


__________________
Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
Back to Top View GadgetGuy's Profile Search for other posts by GadgetGuy
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: January 20 2013 at 23:10 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Ken,

Ive played and played with this and I cant get it to run
from a macro either. The whole act of posting a system
message to itself from within a process running from the
execution queue doesnt seem to work. No matter what I
tried, I could not get it to run from a macro/formula.

Probably the best thing to do is provide a way to
programatically modify this value without having to
resort to faking a keypress via a system message.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
GadgetGuy
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: June 01 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 942
Posted: January 21 2013 at 08:24 | IP Logged Quote GadgetGuy

Perhaps expanding the scope of the "ph_insteonctrl()"
function would be a natural place to put it.



__________________
Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
Back to Top View GadgetGuy's Profile Search for other posts by GadgetGuy
 
BeachBum
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: April 11 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1880
Posted: January 21 2013 at 16:44 | IP Logged Quote BeachBum

Ken- Thanks for the auto bump…

__________________
Pete - X10 Oldie
Back to Top View BeachBum's Profile Search for other posts by BeachBum
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum