Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: Integrate X10 Powerhome Java or Other Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
hotcoffee76
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 04 2009
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Posted: December 04 2009 at 23:21 | IP Logged Quote hotcoffee76

Hi,

I am planning my home automation project. If I was using Powerhome as my main control centre for an X10-based home automation setup, what would I need to consider if I wanted to have other software respond and send commands via Powehome? I am hoping I can leave the X10 communication within powerhome to centralize all direct X10 activity and then interface the other components into Powerhome.

For example, lets say I have temperature sensors that send their readings out on X10 commands. I assume Powerhome can receive those commands. Now, say I have a Java app that has all the functionality to track historical temperatures, combine with other data, and do other things. How can I get the data received within the X10 command sent from the sensor and received by Powerhome into the Java app?

From Java, I can listen on a socket port, receive HTTP, etc. Just about anything is possible, with a little work.

What are the options in Powerhome for sending commands?

Thanks.

Edited by hotcoffee76 - December 04 2009 at 23:22
Back to Top View hotcoffee76's Profile Search for other posts by hotcoffee76
 
onhiatus
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: May 12 2004
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Posted: December 07 2009 at 14:25 | IP Logged Quote onhiatus

Powerhome can send / receieve on a socket, or serve an active HTML page, or read / write a shared file, or send / receive windows messages. I use pretty much all of the above to communicate between programs / displays / and other machines.

Also of interest is that Powerhome can trigger on any of the above as well.
Back to Top View onhiatus's Profile Search for other posts by onhiatus Visit onhiatus's Homepage
 
hotcoffee76
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: December 04 2009
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Posted: December 07 2009 at 14:32 | IP Logged Quote hotcoffee76

onhiatus wrote:
Powerhome can send / receieve on a socket, or serve an active HTML page, or read / write a shared file, or send / receive windows messages. I use pretty much all of the above to communicate between programs / displays / and other machines.

Also of interest is that Powerhome can trigger on any of the above as well.


Thanks for the info. Some follow up questions:

1. Can Powerhome process HTML posts? By 'active html page' are you referring to ASP?

2. Can Powerhome poll files, or will it need to be told to read a file by one of the other communication methods?

3. Can data be shared through the Powerhome database? I assume the core tables it uses can have data added/changed/etc. but is there any notion of a DB level API?

Thanks.
Back to Top View hotcoffee76's Profile Search for other posts by hotcoffee76
 
onhiatus
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: May 12 2004
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Posted: December 09 2009 at 12:23 | IP Logged Quote onhiatus

1. Yes, I believe PH can process a POST. No, not ASP - powerhome has it's own http server and it does simple substitutions into the html.

2. There is a plug in that monitors specified files. When there is a change to the file the specified action is run (usually processing the file)My first external processes used Windows Messages, but since this plug in became available it makes interprocess communications so easy...

3. Yes, at least kind of. You can run raw sql which could read / write / create tables.

Back to Top View onhiatus's Profile Search for other posts by onhiatus Visit onhiatus's Homepage
 
kev21986
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: April 04 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 199
Posted: December 16 2009 at 14:34 | IP Logged Quote kev21986

onhiatus wrote:
1. Yes, I believe PH can process a
POST. No, not ASP - powerhome has it's own http server
and it does simple substitutions into the html.



You can send a GET requests with a formula and it
returns the results. This is how my iPhone app iHome
communicates with PowerHome.

http://{serverURL}/ph-cgi/eval?formula={formula}

Where {serverURL} is the url to the PowerHome web
server and {formula} is the PH formula you want to run.

The request does need basic HTTP Authentication. Your
HTTP Request classes should have a way to do this.

onhiatus wrote:
3. Yes, at least kind of. You can run
raw sql which could read / write / create tables.



Is this fairly easy to do? I am looking to do things like get
the list of devices or macros.

__________________
Kevin Smith
@respectTheCode
Back to Top View kev21986's Profile Search for other posts by kev21986 Visit kev21986's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum